My pen!

The blog has been very quiet lately. I can’t say this is because I am too busy with other, more vital, writing. I should be, but I am not. I just haven’t been disciplined about regular writing. I have gotten two out of eight essays edited for the forthcoming conference proceedings of which I am the nominal editor. I am still waiting on five of those eight, but it’s better than nothing. I am also about half way through the revision of that reject from May. That isn’t going very smoothly, mostly because I now, officially, hate every little line in it. Ah well.

But soft, what is this? A pen? Indeed!

gasp!

gasp!

Z and I live a block or so away from a small antique shop. We don’t often visit and when we do we are often disappointed. Such is the way of these things. Antique stores, garage sales, flea markets, abandoned safes: the imagination always stocks their contents far better than reality ever can. This time I lucked out and found this handsome little pen.

It appears to be a Parker Junior Vacumatic in red marble. The internets tell me that this style last appeared in 1937 but there is a wee date code on the barrel (9,) which the same internets interprets as the 3rd quarter of 1939. That contradicts the other dates assigned to these pens but it is a Canadian model and perhaps the design lasted longer here than elsewhere.

It has gone into service at my local pen restorer (which makes me feel very smug in saying that as very few people have anything close to a local pen guy unless your ‘local’ means London or Paris or Tokyo). Unfortunately, like a barn-find car, this pen has hidden problems. Unlike a barn-find car, a cracked nib is easier to deal with than a seized transmission but it will make the $12 I spent on it seem less like the cosmicly fantastic deal that it was. Well, it is still a great deal because I am sure the original seller who priced it as such didn’t do so knowing it had this tiny flaw which my natural 10x magnification was unable to see.

Actually, you can just make out the crack as that little diagonal line along the top edge of the nib, moving towards the section. Looks like an ink stain, but no.

Actually, you can just make out the crack as that little diagonal line along the top edge of the nib, moving towards the section. Looks like an ink stain, but no.

Anyway, I have a new, old, pen in the works and I am happy about that.

Less happy about this stupid article revision but I’m not surprised by that.

One thought on “My pen!

  1. Pingback: Fighting the Germans « What's up at Ravens March.

Leave a Reply

