Hēllūo librorum

I am sure that the phrase identifies someone with a far more serious compulsion than I have, but it seemed apt for this brief and cheerless post about the books I have bought (or where waiting for me) on my return to Oxford.

I'm not sure a well rested and rational version of me would have gotten everything you see here. However, I am now unable to decide which of these would qualify as rational.

I’m not sure a well rested and rational version of me would have gotten everything you see here. However, I am now unable to decide which of these would qualify as rational.

 

I’ll let you read the titles and make your own explanations for why I chose them. It’s easier, and potentially more entertaining, that way. I can say that this pile is nowhere near as expensive as it looks (I’m still sorry Z).

 

2 thoughts on “Hēllūo librorum

  1. Frank Tallett was my PhD supervisor, and I think he and his book are great, but be careful with the bits about cavalry. Although I’m sure you read everything critically anyway.

    I haven’t read any Carlton other than Going To The Wars, and I suspect his numbers in that are just made up.

    It’s the Brill volume that makes the pile look really expensive.

    • Small world. Tallett is often cited but somehow I have not spent much time with his work. I’m mostly interested in how he handles the 16th century and its various transitions. Ditto for Carlton, and I must say, so far I am not particularly impressed. The book was well received (or at least, often cited) and it was amongst the 3 for 2 bargins at Blackwells.

      I got that Brill title for a fraction of regular price thanks to a completely unexpected sale at Oxbow books. That’s where Tallett, Barber, and Niccolle books came from.

Leave a Reply

